Don’t be a pansy. Cook.

StoveAttitude2

So many of my clients start off our sessions by saying they don’t cook. And by that, they usually mean “Can you just tell me what part of the Whole Foods prepared foods counter I should be browsing for dinner?”

Well, here’s the good news and the bad news all in one sentence: If you want to feed your family and yourself healthy food, you have to cook.

Why? Because if you don’t cook, you don’t really know what you are eating or feeding your family.

I’m not trying to sell you on any wild-eyed conspiracy theories about how major food companies subversively infuse their products with unholy, mad scientist concoctions. They do. But that’s for another day. I’m talking about making yourself knowledgeable about what goes in your family’s bodies. And that means learning to cook.

Now, when I say cook I’m not talking about wearing a puffy white hat and deciphering complicated French soufflé recipes. I’m talking about the basics. The stuff you actually have time to make. Plain, simple food. Sure, I would love to spend hours in the kitchen whipping up the perfect twelve course meal every day, but I also wish that I had won the lottery and my husband had a smaller nose. What are ya gonna do? In the real world, you have to make do with the time you have. And that means simple food.

No, I’m not going to teach you how to cook in one blog post, but I want you to get it into your head that you are going to learn how to handle meat, steam your veggies and bake a yam or two. And no, those are not euphemisms.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting the basics that I want you to start learning, so get ready. And if you reeeeeally want to wear the puffy white hat, I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

