Have a drink on me

dry-martini-ck-1041872-l

Many of my clients like to have a little drinky-poo here and there. (It’s always amusing to predict when they’re going to ask about alcohol in our initial consultation. The over/under is usually about seven minutes.) Now, I don’t have a problem including alcohol in a diet, but I do have some thoughts on what to drink. Surprise, surprise, these thoughts sound a lot like my thoughts on what to eat.

While you’re probably not going to quiz your bartender or waiter about their selection of organic, free-range, no-gmo drinks, you should remember these guidelines.

Just like I want you to stick with whole foods when you eat, try the same principle with booze. The more it’s processed, the worse it is for you. (A Pina Colada has more calories than a Big Mac. Maybe that’s why my husband started wearing sweat pants to work when he came back from Puerto Rico). Plus all the extra ingredients are just piling on calories, chemicals and junk that you just don’t need.

Beer, wine, hard liquor are my alcohol equivalents of whole foods. Don’t bother with mixers aside from water and seltzer. A lot of them are just sugar water and I know you’re not thinking about pouring diet soda in there.

Ultimately, alcohol is empty calories. Yes, it’s fun and it makes the worries of the day melt away, but it’s empty calories none-the-less. I’m not a big calorie watcher, but in this case, it does make sense.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to slip into something more comfortable. Like a martini.

Here’s to you.

Leave a Reply

