Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

Come along for the ride with Barbara Kingsolver and her husband and two daughters as they pledge to become locavores for one year.  For those of you who don’t know, a locavore is a person who eats only local food.  (Just thought I’d clear up any misconceptions. My husband thought it might be some type of dinosaur.)

I highly recommend  Animal,Vegetable,Miracle for all of you who want to learn more about healthy alternatives to processed foods, industrial agriculture and ecology, and delicious seasonal recipes.  You can think of it as a how-to guide for planting (for the adventurous) eating, buying and cooking locally.

I can’t imagine moving out of Manhattan to a farm but the book does inspire me to support my local farmers, take more of an interest in where the food I am eating comes from and gives me an even greater appreciation for the people that grow and transport all of their delicious, nutritious food from their farm to our table.

To all the local farmers out there, wishing you a very Happy New Year with thanks and gratitude.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

