One more bite, please Mom?

Vegetables are the one thing missing from most modern diets, especially from kid’s menus.  Why do you think that is?  Drumroll please.

Because people don’t know how to cook them.

Now,  don’t get me wrong. I know just about anyone can boil up some broccoli or steam some carrots. I mean that most people don’t know how to cook vegetables so they taste delish.  I used to be one of them.

Then I found Mollie Katzen’s The Vegetable Dishes I Can’t Live Without.

This self-proclaimed “leaf geek” wants you to eat vegetables not just because they are good for you, but because vegetables are beautiful, accessible and can be utterly and irresistibly tasty. If you know what to do with them.

From experience, and if I were you I would roll tape now, I’ve seen kids beg for more broccoli – roasted broccoli, with a little olive oil and sea salt.  I’ve had to hold them back from kale when I made it into healthy kale chips. And I’ve seen them go bonkers for baked sweet potato fries and mashed parsnips.  Seriously.

What kid wouldn’t like vanilla-maple sweet potatoes or how about broccoli dipped in peanut sauce?  It’s kind of like in Field of Dreams, when Kevin Costner was told “If you build it they will come?” Except, instead of building baseball fields, you’re cooking vegetables and instead of old, ghosty baseball players, it’s your kids that are coming. If you make vegetables actually taste good they will eat them.

I can already hear plenty of you saying your kids won’t eat vegetables no matter what. No offense, but you’re doing it wrong.

A big misstep a lot of parents make is the “just one more bite” routine. I have seen this rookie mistake many times over and it’s usually centered around something green. This is truly one of my biggest pet peeves. If you beg a child to eat their vegetables, they will not only believe that the food is not worth eating, but will wield their control like a Mafia Don drunk with power. And then you lose.

The bottom line is if you make vegetables taste good there won’t be a contest. I promise.

After all, when was the last time you had to ask your child to take one more bite of pizza?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

