Meatless Mondays is bananas

As much as I try to eat locally I have to admit, I get sidetracked by bananas. They are my Achille’s heel. Although, I am guilt-ridden by the millions of food miles they have traveled, they still keep appearing in my shopping cart.

If someone from my CSA came over for lunch, I’d hide the bananas or blame my daughter. But, I feel like I can be honest with you. Because I’m betting you might have dropped a bunch or two in your basket as well.

So let’s cut each other some slack and talk about bananas.

Bananas are a great snack-especially with peanut butter. They make a great no fuss baby food – just smash and go. They compliment most anything, cakes, bread, pies, you name it. They serve as methadone treatment for my recovering sugar-addicts, especially drizzled with honey and sprinkled with coconut. They are a good source of dietary fiber, Vitamin C, potassium and manganese, and Vitamin B6. They are convenient, versatile and travel well. When they brown, you either make Aunt Helen’s favorite banana bread or slice and freeze them, perfect for smoothies.

But the real point is…they’re great with chocolate. So here you go – my favorite recipe for Frozen Chocolate-Covered Bananas.

I love Meatless Mondays.

Frozen Chocolate-Covered Bananas

4 large ripe bananas, peeled and cut into thirds crosswise

3/4 cup semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips, melted

1/4 cup shredded coconut

Line a baking sheet with parchment or wax paper. Insert a popsicle stick into the cut end of each banana third. Cover each piece of banana with melted chocolate using a rubber spatula and sprinkle with coconut. (Reheat chocolate, as needed, to keep it melted.) Place the bananas on the baking sheet and freeze until frozen, about 2 hours.

Make Ahead Tip: Store airtight in the freezer for up to 1 week.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Meatless Mondays is bananas”

  1. Gourmet Info Guide Says:

    You know, I gotta tell you, I truly savor this website and the great insight. I find it to be refreshing and quite informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyhow, I felt it was about time I posted a comment on Meatless Mondays is bananas MMMunch – I just wanna say that you did a sweet job on this. Cheers mate!

Leave a Reply

