Kale is this year’s black

I hate to say I told you so, but (ahem) I have been a huge kale advocate. And now, everywhere I turn I see a recipe for kale, an article about kale, I love kale t-shirts, even tons of websites are now selling different “flavor” kale chips. Be still My heart. While I bask in the thought that there will be so many people benefiting from this green nutrient powerhouse I want the rest of you to enjoy it too. Kale, often placed on the top 10 list of healthiest foods to eat, has fiber, vitamin A and C and loads of calcium.

Here are two easy, kid-approved kale recipes:

Kale Chips

1 to 2 bunches kale

olive oil

sea salt

Preheat oven to 425

Remove kale from stalk, leaving the greens in large pieces

Place a little olive oil in a bowl, dip your fingers and massage a very light coat of oil over the kale

Put kale on a baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes until it starts to turn a bit brown.

Keep an eye on it as it can burn quickly

Turn the kale over bake with the other side up.

Remove and sprinkle with sea salt

Pina Kale-Loda

½ -3/4 cup of coconut water

1 cup chopped kale

1 cup frozen pineapple

Blend

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

