It’s Meatless Monday! What’s for breakfast?

My family is pretty lucky. Every morning I arise earlier than I really have to just to make them a delicious homemade nutritious breakfast.  Now, I’m sure they appreciate my tireless pursuit of sainthood, but to be honest I am sick and tired of the clean-up.  They’re usually off to work and school before me, so guess who gets stuck with the dishes? (ahem) Yep, me.

So, I have been racking my brain to come up with breakfast ideas that require little or no clean-up. Which is why I got so excited when I found this delish recipe for Chocolate Chip Banana Bread in Living Vegan for Dummies, from one of my favorite vegans, Alexandra Jamieson (http://bit.ly/di1mUx)

Great for breakfast, snack time or anytime, all you have to do is just slice and go.

BTW, Living Vegan for Dummies is a mmmmmmust have book for anyone interested in becoming vegan or for vegans who want to create a healthy and balanced diet, collect invaluable tips for eating out and traveling as well as expand their cooking repertoire with some kick ass vegan recipes.

Yeah, I said it. Kick ass.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

2 large overripe bananas

6 tablespoons soy, rice or hemp milk

2/3 cup agave syrup

1/3 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¾ teaspoon salt

½ cup vegan chocolate chips

1 cup whole wheat or spelt flour

1 cup unbleached white, whole wheat, or spelt flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly oil a 9-inch loaf pan.  In a medium mixing bowl, mash together the bananas, milk, agave, oil, vanilla, and salt.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

In a large mixing bowl, sift the flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Pour the banana and chocolate chip mixture into the flour mixture and stir with a spatula until just blended.  Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 40-45 m inutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Cool for 15 minutes before removing from the pan and serving.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

