Let’s Get Cooking

Yesterday, I spent the day in my test kitchen trying out new recipes.  Besides the fact that I ate way too much cookie dough and muffin batter and that I probably have salmonella, it was a pretty good time.  I really love being in the kitchen, which is a surprise to most of my friends who knew me when I couldn’t even boil water.

I experimented making new muffins for toddlers that were both nutrish and delish, as well as created some healthy summer recipes for us older folks who keep putting off going bathing suit shopping.  (How many times can your friends tell you it’s just the lighting?)

Anyhoo, here is an EASY, and I mean EASY, recipe for a healthy gazpacho that takes literally five minutes and will hopefully prevent you from buying that always-a-don’t bathing suit with a skirt.

5 Minute Gazpacho

5 medium vine-ripened organic tomatoes (about 4 ½ cups)

½ medium organic cucumber, peeled and slice (about 1 cup)

½ cup cooked or canned garbanzo beans

1/8 cup chopped organic red onion

2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil

1 teaspoon salt

½ cup vegetable broth

¼ cup olive oil

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

Garnish (optional)

½ cup chopped avocado, tomato, and/or peeled cucumber

Blend all ingredients except optional garnish in a food processor or blender until smooth, 2-3 minutes.  Transfer to a container and chill in the refrigerator for 1 hour.  Ladle into soup bowls and top with garnish, if desired.

from Petit Appetit Cookbook

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

